National Newswatch

EDMONTON - A look at Alberta's NDP cabinet sworn in Sunday:

Rachel Notley (Edmonton Strathcona)

Premier, minister of intergovernmental affairs.

Notley, 51, is serving her third term in the legislature. She has been government house leader and won the party leadership last October. She has a law degree from Osgoode Hall, has worked as labour lawyer and was adviser for the NDP government in British Columbia.


Brian Mason (Edmonton Beverly-Clareview)

Government House Leader, minister of infrastructure, transportation.

Mason, 61, led Alberta's NDP from 2004-2014. He won his fifth term in the legislature in the May 5 election. He is a former Edmonton city councillor, studied political science at the University of Alberta and drove a city transit bus in the 1980s.


David Eggen (Edmonton Calder)

Minister of education, culture and tourism.

Eggen, 52, has won his riding three of the last four elections and has served as opposition critic in portfolios including health, environment, and education. He is former executive director of the Friends of Medicare. He was a teacher before entering politics.


Deron Bilous (Edmonton Beverly-Clareview)

Minister of municipal affairs and Service Alberta.

Bilous, 39, is in his second term in the legislature. He has served as opposition critic for education, municipal affairs, aboriginal affairs, housing, infrastructure, and transportation. He is a former English and social studies teacher. He has an education degree from University of Alberta.


Joe Ceci (Calgary Fort)

President of treasury board and minister of finance.

Ceci, 57, was a city councillor for 15 years in Calgary advocating for progressive issues and help for blighted neighourhoods. He was a longtime social worker with a master's degree in social work from the University of Calgary.


Marg McCuaig-Boyd (Dunvegan-Central Peace-Notley)

Minister of energy

McCuaig-Boyd, 62, has been a teacher and administrator with the Peace River School Division for more than two decades. She is a former executive with Grande Prairie Regional College. Left education in 2013 to run a consulting company.


Sarah Hoffman (Edmonton Glenora)

Minister of health and seniors.

Hoffman, 34, was a trustee and chair with the Edmonton Public School Board, fighting against school closures and for more inclusive student policies. She is a former researcher with the Alberta NDP caucus. She has a master's degree in educational policy studies.


Kathleen Ganley (Calgary Buffalo)

Minister of justice, solicitor general and aboriginal affairs.

Ganley, 36, is a lawyer specializing in labour and employment issues. She has represented employees and unions in a variety of work-related issues. She has degrees in psychology and philosophy.


Lori Sigurdson (Edmonton Riverview)

Minister of innovation, advanced education, jobs, skills training and labour.

Sigurdson, 54, is an instructor and social worker with more than 20 years experience. She was the manager for professional affairs with the Alberta College of Social Work, the professional association for social workers.


Oneil Carlier (Whitecourt-Ste Anne)

Minister of agriculture and forestry.

Carlier was born in Val Marie, Sask., and raised his family's farm. He moved to Alberta in 2002 and has worked as a regional representative with the Public Service Alliance of Canada.


Shannon Phillips (Lethbridge West)

Minister of environment, parks and minister responsible for the status of women.

Phillips, 39, has been a journalist, consultant, and economic analyst. She worked for the Alberta Federation of Labour helping craft pipeline policy. She graduated from the University of Alberta with a degree in political science.


Irfan Sabir (Calgary McCall)

Minister of human services.

Sabir, 37, is a lawyer specializing in aboriginal affairs. He also has a degree in social work from University of Calgary, and a degree in economics in his home country of Pakistan. He worked with the homeless in Calgary.


Click here for more political news headlines