National Newswatch

Senate Liberals elected their leadership in June of last year for a two-year mandate. Now they’re saying they will hold new elections when Parliament returns after the Oct. 19 federal election after leader James Cowan’s expenses were flagged by Auditor General Michael Ferguson and a split between the leadership and rank-and-file Liberal Senators became public over Conservative MP Michael Chong’s Reform Act.

“We don’t have to wait for the writ. There’s one thing that makes us different from the Canadian electorate: We don’t have to wait for the writ. If people want to run for leadership after the election, the campaign is on,” Liberal Senate Whip Jim Munson (Ottawa-Rideau Canal, Ont.) told The Hill Times last week.

Last June, the Senate Liberal caucus elected its top leadership positions—leader, deputy leader, whip and deputy whip—after Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau (Papineau, Que.) booted them unceremoniously from the national caucus. Up until that time,

Click here for more political news headlines